The Lithuanian litas was the currency of Lithuania, until 1 January 2015, when it was replaced by the euro.
The litas was first introduced on 2 October 1922 after World War I, when Lithuania declared independence and was reintroduced on 25 June 1993, following a period of currency exchange from the rouble to the litas with the temporary talonas then in place. The name was modeled after the name of the country (similar to Latvia and its lats).