The ouguiya, at one time spelled “ougiya”,is the currency of Mauritania. Each ouguiya constitutes five khoums (meaning “one fifth”). As such it is one of two circulating currencies, along with the Malagasy ariary, whose division units are not based on a power of ten.
The current ouguiya was introduced in 2018, replacing the old ouguiya at a rate of 1 new ouguiya = 10 old ouguiya, which in turn replaced the CFA franc at a rate of 1 old ouguiya = 5 francs. The name ouguiya (أوقية) is the Hassaniya Arabic pronunciation of uqiyyah أُوقِية), meaning “ounce“.