The Romanian leu is the currency of Romania. It is subdivided into 100 bani, a word that means “money” in Romanian.
The name of the currency means “lion”, and is derived from the Dutch thaler (leeuwendaalder “lion thaler/dollar”). The Dutch leeuwendaalder was imitated in several German and Italian cities. These coins circulated in Romania, Moldova and Bulgaria and gave their name to their respective currencies: the Romanian leu, the ‘Moldovan leu and the Bulgarian lev.