The manat is the currency of Turkmenistan. The original manat was introduced on 1 November 1993, replacing the rouble at a rate of 1 manat = Rbls 500. The manat is subdivided into 100 tenge
Due to heavy inflation a new manat was introduced on 1 January 2009 at the rate of 5,000 old manats to 1 new manat.
The word “manat” is derived from the Persian word “munāt” and the Russian word “монета” (“moneta”) meaning “coin”. It was used as the name of the Soviet currency in Turkmen and in Azerbaijani Turkish.

Showing all 24 results