Dominican Republic P-178A / 200 Pesos Oro 2009 – UNC




Issued by Banco Central de la República Dominicana
Issue 2006-2010 “Printer DLR” and “Oberthur” Issue
Size 156 x 67 mm
Printer De La Rue, London (England) – DLR
Watermark Juan Pablo Duarte
Signatures Héctor Valdez Albizu / Vicente Bengoa
Obverse The Mirabal Sisters – four Dominican political dissidents who opposed the dictatorship of Rafael Trujillo. Depicted are the three sisters, Patria Mirabal, Minerva Mirabal and Maria Teresa Mirabal, who were assassinated in 1960. Seal of the Central Bank of the Republic. A butterfly symbolising the Mirabal sisters. Blossoms of the Mahogany Tree, La caoba (Swietenia mahagoni), formerly (1957-2011) the national flower and now the national tree of the Dominican Republic.
Reverse Monument to the Mirabal Sisters in Salcedo in a small park across the street from the Ojo de Aqua house